Users who have accounts on servers of DAA are entitled to continuing use of the accounts for one more year after leaving the University. The system administrators will initiate the account closing process after that, which will include the deletion of user’s home directory, email, web content and backup etc. It is advised that users should arrange the file transfer soon after leaving the department. DAA is not responsible for data loss during the one year grace period.
Upon the closing of the account, users can, if in need, arrange with the system administrators to have their email forwarded to their preferred addresses. This will ensure that their astro email addresses are still valid.
Exceptions can be made with regard to the removal of user account under certain conditions: